Osaka Castle Main Keep 0
An Osaka symbol standing 55 meters tall with 5 tiers and 8 interior floors, the main keep of Osaka Castle features dazzling gold ornamentation across its structure, including “fish tiger” shachihoko figurines on the topmost roof and prostrate tigers beneath its balustrades.
Open9:00 - 17:00 (admissions close 16:30; opening hours may extend seasonally)
ClosedNew Year holidays (12/28 - 1/1)
Osaka Castle's main keep towers above a backdrop of blue sky. Construction on the castle began on the former site of the Ishiyama Hongan-ji Temple in 1583 under the command of Toyotomi Hideyoshi, who dreamt of unifying the nation under his rule. The main keep, which is the centermost structure of the castle's inner citadel, was finished two years later. However, during the summer campaign of the Siege of Osaka in 1615, it was burnt to the ground and destroyed together with the Toyotomi clan. The tower was rebuilt during the Tokugawa era, but was destroyed again by a lightning strike in 1665. From that point on, Osaka Castle existed without a main keep. The existing main keep was constructed in 1931 after the mayor of Osaka, Hajime Seki, appealed to citizens to donate and raised money for its reconstruction. Reborn from the ashes of history 266 later, the 5-tier, 8-story main keep stands 55 meters tall and features dazzling gold ornamentation across its structures, including “fish tiger” shachihoko figurines on the topmost roof and prostrate tigers beneath its balustrades. It is also registered as a National Tangible Cultural Property. The main keep underwent major renovations between 1995 and 1997. From the 8th floor viewing platform, visitors can look out across the whole of Osaka City.
Location〒 540-0002 1-1 Osakajo, Chuo-ku, Osaka
DirectionsRoughly a 15- to 20-minute walk from Morinomiya or Osakajokoen Station on the JR Osaka Loop Line
Children 14 and under, Osaka City residents 65+ (ID required), and persons with disabilities: free
Tour guideRental audio guides available