Founded in 1347 as the primary temple of the Sata sect by Jisson, a disciple of Homyo of the Yuzu Nembutsu sect of Buddhism. The primary object of worship enshrined here is a Tenpitsu Nyorai painting of the three Buddhist deities Amida, Kannon, and Seishi. Due to a unique succession system, the temple moved a total of 26 times with the changing of its head priest over 300 years of its history. However, it has remained at its current location since moving there in 1678. The temple holds mandalas and paintings that are nationally-registered Important Cultural Properties, as well as a 13-story stone pagoda that is an Osaka Prefecture-designated Tangible Cultural Property. The temple also has mats that a woman's ghost walked upon when sighted in 1743, which are displayed during rituals. It was a personal temple of the 97th Emperor and retains the throne from that period to this day.
address7-11-17 Sata Nakamachi, Moriguchi-shi, Osaka, 570-0002
transportRoughly a 5-minute walk from the Sata Tenjin-mae bus stop; board Keihan bus 4 or 5 from Dainichi Station on the Subway Tanimachi Line
Roughly a 5-minute walk from the Sata Tenjin-mae bus stop; board Keihan bus 4 bound for Moriguchishi Station/Dainichi Station from Neyagawashi Station on the Keihan Electric Railway
general participationSee homepage